2019 LS elections: Congress releases manifesto

     Written by : SMTV24x7 | Tue, Apr 02, 2019, 02:07 PM

2019 LS elections: Congress releases manifesto

New Delhi, Apr 02: Congress on Tuesday released the manifesto named 'Hum Nibhayenge' for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Congress said that the focus will be on three key issues – creating jobs, women's safety and wealth and welfare. The party said it will also pitch for 'Ujjwal Bharat'.

# Main agenda of Congress in the election manifesto:

1. Minimum income guarantee to eliminate poverty or Nyuntam Aay Yojana (NYAY)

2. Jobs revolution

3. Farmers and farm labour

4. Universal healthcare

5. GST 2.0

6. Armed Forces and Paramilitary Forces (AFSPA)

7. Quality education for every child

8. Gender justice

9. Adivasis welfare

10. Right to homestead

11. End to hate crimes

12. Celebrating freedom

13. Protecting our institutions

14. Cities and urban governance

15. Environment and climate change

"We took a year's time to cover all the objectives in the manifesto. We took opinions from the people and their wishes have been scripted in the manifesto," said Rahul Gandhi at Congress manifesto launch in Delhi.

Rahul Gandhi said Congress promises 150 days of MNREGA in its manifesto. They have also decided to bring a separate farmer's budget and six per cent of the GDP will be contributed to education.

The manifesto document was released by Congress president Rahul Gandhi and all top party leaders, including former prime minister Manmohan Singh, Sonia Gandhi, P Chidambaram, who were present at the party’s Akbar Road headquarters in Delhi.