Latest update Telangana assembly

 SMTV Desk 2019-01-17 15:42:45  Telangana assembly, K Chandrashekhar rao, MLA, AIMIM,MLA Raja Singh,Mumtaz Ahmed Khan
 Latest update Telangana assembly

Hyderabad, January 17: On Thursday, the first session of the newly elected Telangana assembly began with the oath taking of legislators. Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao was the first to take oath as Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) as the session was chaired by pro-tem Speaker Mumtaz Ahmed Khan of the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM).

KCR, who was re-elected from Gajwel constituency in the recent elections, took oath after the session began. other MLAs took oath in alphabetical order.

The senior most member of Assembly, Mumtaz Ahmed Khan took oath as the pro-tem Speaker on Wednesday day. Bharatiya Janata Party’s lone MLA Raja Singh has already announced that he will not take oath from Mumtaz Khan as his party was against Hindus.

Before the beginning of the session, KCR, and all MLAs of the TRS paid tributes at the Telangana Martyrs’ memorial in front of the Assembly building. The schedule of election to the Speaker will be announced later in the day and the nomination process would commence. The Speaker’s election would take place on Friday. KCR has requested to the opposition to cooperate in the unanimous election of the Speaker.

Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan will address the House on January 19. The next day the House will introduce the motion of thanks to the Governor’s address and adopt the same. KCR is likely to expand his cabinet later in January. TRS bagged 88 seats in the 119-member Assembly.

In December, the government also named Elvis Stephenson as the MLA from the Anglo-Indian community. He also took oath as MLA on Thursday.