Shocking News to Sri Lanka & Bangladesh Teams

 SMTV Desk 2019-01-02 10:07:01  Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, ICC , t20
Shocking News to Sri Lanka & Bangladesh Teams

New Delhi, January 02: Here is the breaking news that, The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday (January 1) confirmed the sides that have achieved direct qualification for the T20 World Cup 2020. Hosts Australia and nine other sides have gained qualification for the 16-team tournament.

Coming to details, The lineup was decided on the basis of T20I team rankings as of December 31. As per the qualification criteria, the top eight teams, Pakistan, India, England, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, West Indies and Afghanistan have attained a direct route into the Super 12s stage.

Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, ranked 9 and 10 on the charts will play in the group stage along with six other teams who make it through from the T20 World Cup Qualifier in 2019. Out of the group stage, four teams will then qualify for the Super 12s of the tournament, which will be held from 18 October to 15 November 2020.

For 2014 champions and three-time finalists Sri Lanka, not achieving direct qualification into the Super 12 stage was a bitter pill to swallow but captain Lasith Malinga said that he was confident his side will do well in the tournament.

"It is a bit disappointing that we have not been able to ensure a direct Super 12s berth but I’m confident that we will do well in the tournament," he said.