TDP begins announcing candidates for AP Assembly polls

     Written by : SMTV24x7 | Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 02:35 PM

TDP begins announcing candidates for AP Assembly polls

Amaravati, Feb 22: Telugu Desam Party (TDP) president N. Chandrababu Naidu has started announcing candidates for Assembly elections well in advance.

In this regard, Naidu on Thursday announced candidates for five assembly constituencies in Kadapa district.

Holding consultations with party leaders from each parliamentary constituency, Naidu is finalising the candidates for Assembly segments falling under it.

The TDP cheif began the consultations by taking up Rajampet Lok Sabha constituency. Out of seven Assembly constituencies that fall under this parliamentary seat, Naidu declared candidates for five seats.

Nallari Kishan Kumar Reddy, brother of former Chief Minister and Congress leader Kiran Kumar Reddy, will contest from Pileru constituency. TDP MP from Chittoor N. Siva Prasad's son-in-law Narasimha Prasad will be the party candidate from Railway Koduru. Anusha Reddy has been named as the candidate from Punganur. The other candidates are B. Chengalrayudu (Rajampet) and Ramesh Reddy (Rayachoti).

After Rajampet Lok Sabha constituency, Naidu began consultations with leaders from Kadapa constituency. TDP sources said this exercise would continue for next few days to finalise candidates for majority of the constituencies even before the announcement of poll dates by the Election Commission.

Early selection of candidates will give them adequate time to run the campaign.

After selecting the candidates for Assembly constituencies, Naidu will begin the process for picking up candidates for Lok Sabha polls.

Simultaneous elections to Andhra Pradesh Assembly and Lok Sabha are due in April-May.