Karnataka Urban Local Body Election 2018: Congress wins with 982 seats

     Written by : SMTV24x7 | Mon, Sep 03, 2018, 07:29 PM

Karnataka Urban Local Body Election 2018: Congress wins with 982 seats

Bangalore, Sep 03: According to the latest update on Karnataka urban local body election 2018: Congress wins Karnataka urban local body elections, bags 982 seats, BJP secured 929 seats while JD(S) won 325 seats in the elections which were held on August 31. The remaining seats were bagged by the Independents and others.

The polls registered a record turnout of 68 per cent for elections to the 2,709 civic wards spanning 29 city municipalities, 53 town municipalities, 23 town panchayats and 135 wards at Mysuru, Shivamogga and Tumakuru city corporations.

A total of 8,340 candidates, including 2,306 from the Congress, 2,203 from the BJP and 1,397 from the JD-S contested in the urban local body elections. The Congress and JD (S) did not rule out on forming a post-poll alliance to keep the BJP out of power.

"In the event of either party not getting majority on its own in the ULB elections, we will have post-poll alliance to rule the local bodies as we did to form the coalition government in the state after the May 12 assembly election threw a hung House with a split verdict,"a JD(S) official told media on Saturday.

In the 2013 urban local bodies elections held in 4,976 seats, the Congress had won 1,960 seats, while the BJP and the JD-S had won 905 seats each, and Independents had bagged the remaining 1,206 seats.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday blamed Karnataka’s ruling coalition partners Congress and Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) for its defeat in the state civic polls held across 22 districts.

"The BJP should have won more seats but we could not perform the way we wanted to because of the Congress-JD-S coalition," BJP state unit President B.S. Yeddyurappa told reporters here.

The party, however, is confident of winning a majority in the 2019 Lok Sabha election, Yeddyurappa said.