Arjuna Awards ,Khel Ratna,Dronacharya Awards List confirmed

     Written by : SMTV24x7 | Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 06:21 PM

Arjuna Awards ,Khel Ratna,Dronacharya Awards List confirmed

New Delhi Aug 19: Some changes were made today.
Sports Ministry on Saturday has removed the name of coach of the Para Sports Satyanarayana from this year's Dronacharya Prize list.

Ministry said that we have dropped his name because of criminal cases against him are pending while there has been no change in the list of Arjuna Award and Khel Ratna award. Sources say that tennis player Rohan Bopanna and weightlifter Sanjeeeta Chanu may not get the Arjuna Award this year.

A sports ministry official said "If the coach can prove himself that he is not guilty" we may consider his name. Satyanarayan has been the coach of Mariyappan Thangavelu, who won gold at the Rio Paralympic.

The selection committee had recommended the name of 17 players, including two para athlete for the Arjuna Award, while the Khel Ratna hockey players Sardar Singh and the para athlete Devendra Jhajaria will be given it.

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar had requested to include the name of Para Athlete Deepa Malik for Khel Ratna but the Ministry did not make any changes to the list. There was also debate on whether Rohan Bopanna can be included in the list or not, whose name was sent by AIT late.

However, the ministry has decided not to change the lists.